Anna Shinoda

South Africa

South Africa was as incredible as I had hoped it would be.  A visit there did nothing to quench my thirst for going.  Rather, it has made me preoccupied with wanting to return.  For now, I have pictures to gaze at, and on occasion, my subconscious mind is kind enough to transport me there in my dreams.

Here are some of the photos:

On top of Table Mountain, overlooking Cape Town.

On top of Table Mountain, overlooking Cape Town.

The fog quickly crept across the mountain, starting along this edge then covering it completely within an hour.

The fog quickly crept across the mountain, starting along this edge, then covered it completely within an hour.

Robben Island

Robben Island

Learning Not To Drown explores the impact that incarceration of a brother has on his sister's life.  I couldn't help but think about the children and wife of Robert Sobukwe.  This room of the small house he was kept in solitary confinement had some letters between him and his wife displayed on the wall.  An adjacent building featured four beds that his children sleep in during their rare visits.

Learning Not To Drown explores the impact that incarceration of a brother has on his sister’s life, so during our tour, I couldn’t help but think about the families of those prisoned there, especially the children and wife of Robert Sobukwe. This room of the small house where he was kept in solitary confinement had letters between him and his wife displayed on the wall. An adjacent building featured four beds that his children sleep in during their rare visits.

Cape Town show on November 7th.

Cape Town show on November 7th.

Our safari began with seeing this pack of African Wild Dogs on our trip from the plane to our lodge.

Our safari began with seeing this pack of African Wild Dogs on our trip from the plane to our lodge.

Mike caught me reading in our lodge between safari rides.

Reading in our lodge between safari drives.

I felt like I was seeing animals for the first time.  No zoo experience could have ever prepared me for how incredible these animals are in their natural habitat.  No zoo experience can give me the instinctual fear of where humans really exist in the food chain without weapons.

I felt like I was seeing animals for the first time. No zoo experience could have ever prepared me for how incredible these animals are in their natural habitat.

Our evening safari ride was brought to an early end, due to a proper storm: lighting, thunder, pouring rain that turned to hail the size of gum balls.

Our evening safari drive was brought to an early end due to a proper storm: lighting, thunder, and pouring rain that turned to hail the size of gum balls.

Ostrich taking a morning jog.

Ostrich taking a morning jog.

Giraffes: Strangely elegant and graceful.

Giraffes: Strangely elegant and graceful.

Giraffes -1

Lion cubs (around a year old) played in the grass.

Lion cubs (around a year old) playing in the grass.

After seeing the lions, our guide drove to a clearing where they typically will let everyone out of the vehicle for a little coffee break.  These mama rhino and her calf were waiting in the clearing.  After watching them for a little while, we drove on to a different location for our break.  Sadly, an insatiable demand for Rhino horns has sparked the worst recorded year of rhino poaching in South Africa - 588 so far this year. There is no scientific evidence that the Rhino horn can cure any diseases.

Our guide drove to a clearing where they typically let everyone out of the vehicle for a stretch. This mama rhino and her calf were waiting in the clearing. After watching them for a while, we drove on to a different location for our break.  Our guide explained to us that the rhinos-even in this protected nature reserve- are in danger of poaching.  An insatiable demand for rhino horns has sparked the worst recorded year of rhino poaching in South Africa – 588 so far this year. There is no scientific evidence that rhino horns can cure any diseases.

I really wanted to see an elephant, but migratory patterns had the elephants far from the lodge.  Our guide found one for me!  We had to drive over an hour.  Worth it.  I was in awe.

I really wanted to see an elephant, but migratory patterns had the elephants far from the lodge. Our guide found one for me! We had to drive over an hour. Worth it. I was in awe.

African Wild Dog

African Wild Dog

After safari, we headed back to civilization for the Johannesburg show.  One of the most incredible crowds I have ever seen.

After safari, we headed back to civilization for the Johannesburg show. One of the most incredible crowds I have ever seen.

I like to take pictures of the guys performing.  I thought this one of Chester was nice.

I like to take pictures of the guys performing. I thought this one of Chester was especially nice.

Pyro from the side of the stage.

Pyro from the side of the stage.

I sat in on the Music For Relief Discussion on clean energy in South Africa.  Blown away by how smart, articulate, innovating and caring the teens were representing SAIIA youth's program.  After discussing their ideas, they presented MFR and Linkin Park with this solar light made from a canning jar.

I sat in on the Johannesburg Music For Relief discussion on clean energy in South Africa. The smart, articulate, innovating and caring teens that represented SAIIA youth’s program discussed their ideas, then they presented MFR and Linkin Park with this solar light made from a canning jar.

Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “South Africa

  1. I’m so glad you liked South Africa! Been living in Cape Town for 10 years now and absolutely love it! Come back soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Anna! Beautiful photos 🙂 I like people who are not indifferent to the lives of animals. I am an amateur writer and you and Mike are my idols.
    Merry Christmas from Slovakia 🙂

    Like

  3. you know bennoda? ^^

    Like

  4. @LilianaShinoda Hi Anna, I’m glad you have a certain admiration for the beautiful things in life, there are people who think that animals are nothing more than puppets, you see them in a different way and that is very good.
    I hope you had great adventures in South Africa with your husband and all the rest … Give my best wishes to Otis … I guess this divine.
    You know … I recently started with my book and would like to read it someday, so I leere insurance as yours … until then.

    Like

  5. Hi, Anna,
    thanks for sharing your experience with us! I love nature, I love animals and your adorable pictures of them are really great! Those pictures and your descriptions made me feel being in this wonderful place, especially the photo of your lodge touched my heart, it looks really romantic! It´s cool that such a busy people as you can find a time for each other for spending time in this lovely place. And I truly wish you to come back soon!
    I like your blog and your green initiatives are really inspiring! And I´m looking forward to reading your upcoming book!

    Btw Did you know that giraffes live with only partner their entire life?

    Take care, enjoy holydays and New Year´s Eve with health, love and peace. Best wishes to you and your family in 2013.

    Sincerely,
    Adriana, Czech Republic

    Like

  6. Wow..about…wow, ok:
    The nature photos are spectacular.
    The way you do the descriptions transport the reader (I can not wait to read your book)
    The lodge leaves me speechless, it’s beautiful
    I support you in wanting to return, the experience of visiting the place where life began, must obviously be spectacular
    The concert pictures are stunning, and I also like the Chester’s one
    But what most impresses me, sorry but totally distracted me from everything else, is that sunlight made ​​in a canning jar, ¿how did they do that? I’m a little obsessed with these projects, they provide so many chances and just need support, which by the way I love that the band gives it, and I don’t know if you are the right person for it, I would not want to bother, but it is necessary to make a page in Spanish for MFR, and I’m sure other languages too. The other day I was trying to convince some people to sign the pledge but i couldnt find a place where the information is translated and I could not post anything on my FB page, just ask them to sign and give a little explanation … :/
    I’m sorry about the grammar and spelling mistakes this isn’t my first language, don’t even the second… ha 🙂
    Oh one more thing…regarding what I said about the descriptions, I’m not trying to be condescending, I really like the way you write and I really hope to read your book. I like to read, but some authors simply make reading tedious and heavy. I read fragments of your style here in your blog, they are really good, especially when something excites you … 🙂 I like your work and I like to have found you, much love to you, happy holidays…

    Like

  7. Wow. Those are great pictures. I guess you had hell of a good time there. I can imagine how you want to return. You blog makes wanna go to South Africa.

    Like

  8. All the pictures looks awesome! Thanks for sharing this amazing experience with us!

    Like

  9. wjmccardle on said:

    I like how you are finding and examining the element of youth in every situation, even in other species. The photo of the lion cubs is especially striking, as it looks like they are laughing at a joke only they could understand. And of course it was only fitting that you would end the post nicely by mentioning how the young adults of South Africa are working hard toward a cleaner and healthier future through sustainable energy. It’s always inspiring to get a glimpse
    into your creative process.

    Like

  10. YoMarquesLP on said:

    Thanks for sharing all these amazing photos with us, Anna! I’m glad you all had a great time, South Africa has always been one of the places I want to visit the most!

    Like

  11. Beautiful photos, Anna!! amazing place

    Like

  12. Lindas fotos, Anna!

    Like

  13. Amazing photos ❤ ^^

    Like

  14. thank you soo much for sharing these great experiences with us!!! and i’m sooo happy for every thing and these pics. are amazing!!!may all the powers in the universe save you all!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  15. That’s really amazing ! South Africa is amazing .

    Like

  16. Reblogged this on Linkin Park Fan Corner and commented:


    South Africa is such an incredible country!!! Thanks, Anna, for sharing these beautiful pictures. I especially love the one of the lodge, which looks like a super awesome place to live during vacation, but all the photos look very proffesional. You definitely have some skillz! XD

    Like

  17. Pingback: South Africa | 10Ch_iie

  18. From your photos and your remarks, it seemed like a truly instructive experience. I really want to know more from your Robben Island’s visit, that place is so full of things to learn! Great post, thank you xx

    Like

  19. tensh_iie on said:

    Thank you for sharing these great pictures with us. I’m a really huge fan of animals, especially cats (no matter in which size) but I like the pictures of the Wild Dogs best. So beautiful and simply breath taking.

    The comment about the Rhinos made me sad and think of something I can’t forget. A few weeks back a friend of mine and I made a trip into a zoological museum and all the animals they had there on display (Tigers, Cheetahs, Whales, birds… all kind of things) were either found dead or they were confiscated from the customs. So along of all kinds of handbags and a turtle ashtray there was a elephant foot. They made a stool out of an elephant foot. Who does such things? Who even USES such things? It’s just horrible and unbelievably sad.

    But enough of that. I’m glad you had a great time there and fun. Thank you for sharing those amazing and breath taking pictures 🙂 Btw, if you never have, visit New Zealand – it’s like a dream come true!

    Like

  20. amazing photos! you have talent in photography too!!! ❤

    Like

  21. Reblogged this on Wisdom, Justice, Linkin Park and commented:
    Anna Shinoda’s amazing photos from South Africa!

    Like

  22. I really liked all the photos that you put here. Very nice and thanks for the little information in everyone.

    Like

  23. evooba on said:

    Whoa! Those pics are incredible. The view from Table Mountain is breathtaking and look at those cute giraffes! Now, I definitely want to visit South Africa one day. Thanks for sharing them with us!

    Like

  24. This is really awesome! I love all the pictures and details! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

