Anna Shinoda

Who Wants to be in my Book Club?

One of the joys of writing for young adults is reading the really wonderful books that have been written for young adults.  I love to discuss a book after I’ve read it, but currently I’m not a member of any book clubs.  So I’d like to try a little experiment.  Would you like to be in a book club with me?  Here’s how it will work: the first book club will meet online on February 15th at 1:30 pm PST in a chat room (I will provide the link when I have finalized that detail – it will be a public chat, not LPU).

For the first book, let’s read The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer.  I know this book has been around for a while – it was originally published in 2002 and I read it probably nine years ago.  It is one of my favorite books (and it’s one of Mike’s favorites, too).  And it’s a great time to re-read it  because this fall its sequel,  The Lord of Opium will finally be released.  I’m reading it now because I’d like the characters, setting and story to be fresh in my mind before reading The Lord of Opium.

I’m going to lead the book club chat, but I want you all to contribute to the conversation.  Please bring along your thoughts and ideas about how the book is written, what you liked, what you didn’t like, favorite passages, if it made you think or feel something you’ve never experienced before.

It’s 380 pages – which is why I’m making the first book club meeting a month from now.  Hopefully everyone who will want to participate will have time to read the book in it’s entirety before February 15th.  Please only come to the chat if you’ve read the book and want to be part of the book club.  I won’t be answering questions about myself, my personal life or Mike.  In fact, to alleviate any questions about “what it’s like to live with Mike Shinoda,” I’ll set up a brief chat the day before (link and time TBA).

So I hope to see you in the chat on February 15th at 1:30pm.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Who Wants to be in my Book Club?

  1. um, starting a “little” late but I’m going to grab that book at the library today and read like a maniac! 😉 Look forward to the chat!

  2. I have just read two more awesome young adult books…..The Son by Lois Lowry, the final book in The Giver quartet and Divergent by Veronica Roth

  3. Got my book yesterday, got the last copy!
    My favourite books to read when I was a teen was “The Diary of Adrian Mole” series.

  4. Ure doing that chat on my birthday day That’s cool i wont forget to see it 🙂 its really amazing idea i always wanted to be in a book club and that really interested me . BTW im lucky cuz i read that book before .

  5. My special needs child just spent a week hospitalized with pneumonia, cyclic vomiting syndrome and severe dehydration. The first two days he mostly slept and I mostly read. I finished The House of the Scorpion in those two days. As a middle school language arts teacher I absolutely adore young adult lit. The book was fantastic and I eagerly am waiting for the chat. Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. This is an amazing idea.!! i needed a really good book to read…so thank you for doing this..!! I absolutely love to talk to others about the books I’ve read and go over the whole story and fangirling over them..!! so see you in the chat..!! *excited* 😀

  7. Hey Anna, it’s a very nice idea. 🙂 I studied library science, and I researched teenage-literature (how important is reading to today’s teenagers, they don’t like to read books nowadays – why? or e.g. what are they reading, what should they read… etc and youth literature is a ver very interesting&hard topic) …. and I’m really big fan of books… 🙂 so I would love to be a part of your club!… but I have one question because of the first meeting.. I don’t know where do you live, I’m from Hungary and because of the time difference… can you please tell me (answer me here or write me a DM on twitter) where do you live I mean in which city do you live? … See you on 15th February. Greetings from Hungary: Alex

  8. aline4lp on said:

    I love your idea of a book club, it really sounds like fun!
    My book suggestion is “Tears Of A Tiger” by Sharon Draper. I read it a while ago and loved it…
    Looking foreward to the chat 🙂
    -Aline

  9. Sounds like a great idea, good to find someone who shares your interests and obviously want to belong.

  10. wjmccardle on said:

    Fun! I’ve never been part of a book club before. I think it’s great you’re engaging with fans so we can learn more about you as an author and artist.

  11. I would love to take part in your book club! It will give me more motivation to read more as I lack the motivation due to two little kids under the age of 3 nowadays. I’ve always loved Aldous Huxley’s works (I’m old school) since a teenager and Rachel Vincent’s works, especially the Shift series (like Twilight but a lot better).

  12. Sounds fun! I’ve never really been a part of a book club, and I look forward to it.

  13. Do teens can join? I’m not going to give in conversation, because I do not know very well English, but I would be very happy I would gladly have joined 🙂 C: .

  14. emz321 on said:

    I was looking through my book collection and one I would really like to suggest/recommend is The Splendour Falls by Rosemary Clement Moore. For me, it has been the best written book I’ve read. Here’s the link to the book on Amazon (.com) – http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005M4MX72/ref=aw_d_detail?pd=1

    Also a series of books by British author Joseph Delaney called The Wardstone Chronicles (I think it may be The Spooks Chronicles in America). The first book in the series is The Spooks Apprentice (US Revenge of the Witch). It is currently going to be a series of 12 books. I understand that’s a lot if people “get into” the story.
    Here’s a link to his wiki page where you can get all the names of his books and so on.
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Delaney

    Can’t wait for the first book club chat 🙂

  15. I have some experience in the infantile/young adults publishing/marketing areas in Portugal so this is a great way to build creative processes!
    Thank you.
    I’ll try to read it so I can participate!

  16. This is awesome!!! and this will be a great experience !!I’m definitely in!!! and Anna!! thank you sooo much for opening such a great opportunity for us!!! can’t wait till 15 feb 1.30 p.m though it’s gonna be 16 feb 2.00am for us!!! this chance worths a lot more than my sleep!!:)yey!!!!!!!!thanx again!

  17. Hi Anna,

    I would love to be a part of it! By the way your suggestion about Juine B Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus, couldn’t have been more perfect for my Ana Maria, she requests it every single night 🙂 her experience in kindergarten has been incredible, been meaning to start my blog but it’s been so busy!!! Thank you for the invite! Will order the book ASAP 🙂

  18. ana, can we discuss about books, we thinks, should be movies?

  19. i ‘am a reader and i’d like discuss about books, i’ve always wanted it. i’ll suport you ana. i’ll give you a advice, you should read “50 shadows of grey” . it is very interesting.

  20. It sounds great. I’d love to join, but I need to buy and read the book first and see if I have anything to say about it. And thanks for the tip, I’d been wondering which book I should read next and this one looks interesting!

  21. This is a great idea! I have recently tried to get back to my avid reading habits from back in the day and also started this second blog of mine here. Looking forward to it. Also ‘member readers’ can contribute to ideas for forthcoming books in the months if possible? I have many great books to recommend and many others will have which I never heard of. Cheers from India!

  22. This is such a great idea! From American Lit. class I know, that most books get really amazing when you talk about them with others. I’m definitely in!

  23. YoMarquesLP on said:

    This is amazing! I love to read and it would be awesome to share different experiences with other people. Thanks for starting this, Anna! 😀

  24. Anna, that`s a great idea! I`m definitely in! Hopefully linguistic divide won`t be a big problem 🙂 Can`t wait for the details.

  25. tensh_iie on said:

    I really find this a very interesting idea! I’m gonna take part for sure ^^” And I hope people will join for the book club idea and not the fact who you are married to :/

    Anyone else ever done something like that before?

  26. Sounds awesome. I’ve never been part of a book club either. Even though I read two and three books at a time haha. I’ll admit that I haven’t heard of that book but I’d love to see what it’s like. I very rarely start a book and not finish it. So no doubt I’ll read it all regardless.
    And I think the public chat idea is also good.

Leave a Reply

