Anna Shinoda

Next Book Club Selection – You vote!

I had a great time chatting with you in book club today.  Thank you to those who were able to make it and participate!

We will be voting for our next book selection!  The books that were suggested by book club members are listed here with links to summaries.  Whatever book has the most votes by Friday will be our next selection.

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The List by Siobhan Vivian

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Tomorrow, When the War Began  by John Marsden

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Next Book Club Selection – You vote!

  1. Voted for The List, because it seems interesting.

  2. YoMarquesLP on said:

    Voted for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, because it’s a really interesting story, but it was a hard choice. There are some pretty good books on the list! Looking forward to it 🙂

  3. evooba on said:

    I had to vote for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas because we were talking about it last week with a few friends on Twitter and some really good questions and points were raised. I’d like to know what more people think about it.

  4. I was so excited to have a chance to be part of this book club that I already read The Boy In The Striped. I’ll try to see if I can find another one from the list.

  5. I voted for It’s Kind Of a Funny Story because I’ve been through something similar and I’m really curious to know how the character managed it. I hope it wins but if not, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is my next favorite. I’ve read it before and saw the movie and it’s an awesome story. Looking forward the next book club! 🙂

  6. I’m really hoping for Tomorrow, When The War Began! Read the summaries of all the books listed, and it was the one that really caught my attention.

  7. Miss Mushrooms on said:

    I voted for Looking for Alibrandi, because I can empathize with Josephine minus the Italian conservative family part (but I did attend a strict Catholic school once too). I have seen part of the movie and look forward to one day discussing it with the book club. I think this book would make a lot of young adult girls happy too, as I do believe this book is also about self discovery through positive and negative experiences. But thank you again for today’s chat and I look forward to seeing the result of this poll on Friday 😀

  8. I know this may sound horrible, but ‘fascinated’ is probably the best word to describe my obsession with World War II and the Holocaust; so, I am –really– hoping “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas” gets chosen. I never got to reading it after our teacher chose to show us the movie instead. Either way, looking for to it! Thanks for starting this with us, Anna.

  9. tensh_iie on said:

    Reblogged this on Roads untraveled… and commented:
    YOU vote for the next Book Club selection. Count your vote until FRIDAY 😉

  10. tensh_iie on said:

    I hope “The Boy in the striped Pajama” wins because we talked about the movie earlier this week on twitter and the girls really made me curious about it. It’s a tough topic…. but it be great to read something like that too.

  11. dcl1982 on said:

    I voted the Graveyard Book cause I adored the movie version of Coraline! One of the most wacked out movies I’ve ever seen!

  12. I really really hope “The Boy In The Striped Pajamas” by John Boyne wins since it is the only one from the list that I can get. I really want to be part of this book club. Great idea, Anna.

  13. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
    Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden

    Those are the only ones I can get here in Argentina. Hope I can participate next time. I really want to be part of your book club.

Leave a Reply

