Anna Shinoda

Adventures in the Great Barrier Reef

I went to the Great Barrier Reef about a month ago and took some pictures of the Whitsunday Islands and some fishies.  Here they are…

The rule of thumb as a writer goes something like this: looking for work or waiting to hear back from your editor?  Schedule a vacation.  The work will inevitably come the day before you leave.  So of course I received my manuscript copy edited as I was packing for my trip, and of course my deadline was in the middle of my vacation.  With an extension granted by my editor,  I was able to work on the edits while on vacation and overnight them as soon as I got home.  Not the way I envisioned my time on the lovely Whitsunday Islands, but it didn't suck to have this as my office for the week.

The rule of thumb as a writer goes something like this: looking for work or waiting to hear back from your editor? Schedule a vacation. The work will inevitably come the day before you leave. So of course I received my Learning Not to Drown manuscript copy edited as I was packing for my trip, and of course my deadline for returning the edits was in the middle of my vacation. With an extension granted by my editor, I was able to work while on vacation and overnight them as soon as I got home. Not the way I envisioned my time on the lovely Whitsunday Islands, but it didn’t suck to have this as my office for the week.

Blue Pearl Bay II, Hayman Island

Blue Pearl Bay II, Hayman Island.  We dove here and also did some snorkeling in the shallower reefs.

The "beach" of Blue Pearl Bay was covered in coral, stones and shells.

The beach of Blue Pearl Bay was covered in coral, stones and shells washed smooth by the tide.

We weren't allowed to take any photos while diving since we were doing testing for certification, but I did use our Go Pro Hero 2 to take some photos while snorkeling.

Underwater photos taken with our Go Pro Hero 2.

The water visibility was pretty murky due to recent storms, but the coral and fish were still incredible.

The water visibility was pretty murky due to recent storms, but the coral and fish were still incredible.

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

I was obsessed with these clams that would close their "mouths" as soon as anything got close to them.

I was obsessed with these vibrant clams that would close up as soon as anything got close to them.

Helicopter view on our way to White Haven.

Helicopter view on our way to White Haven.

White Haven Beach.  Brightest white squeaky sand that feels like clay when it's wet and dry snow (minus the cold) when it's dry.

White Haven Beach. Brightest white squeaky sand that feels like clay when it’s wet and dry snow (minus the cold) when it’s dry.

Nobody there but us and this bird.

White Haven: Nobody there but us and this bird.

We brought a cooler full of food for a picnic and returned with a cooler full of plastic that had washed onto shore.

Impromptu beach clean-up. We brought a cooler full of food for a picnic and returned with a cooler full of plastic that had washed onto shore.

Don't let his sweet face fool you.  The ruthless cockatoos at the resort would stop at nothing to steal food.  When I took this picture, a gang of six had surrounded us.

Beautiful cockatoos reside on Hayman Island.  Beautiful.  And loud.  And brazen.  They’d literally land on our table and steal food right off our plates.  When I took this picture, a gang of six had surrounded us.  Luckily, we were napping, not eating.

White Spider Lilies like little fireworks everywhere in the gardens.  Thanks to my followers on Instagram and Twitter for helping me identify these!

White Spider Lilies like little fireworks everywhere in the gardens. Thanks to my followers on Instagram and Twitter for helping me identify these!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Adventures in the Great Barrier Reef

  1. You took such beautiful pictures! I love the helicopter view photo. Isn’t earth a beautiful place?

  2. Miss Mushrooms on said:

    Reblogged this on Miss Mushrooms and commented:
    Anna Shinoda in Australia.

  3. Miss Mushrooms on said:

    I think you have explored more of my country then I have. Haha. Do they tell you about the Crown of Thorns starfish problem we are having on the reef? But the shots look awesome! I’m currently green with envy because it’s one out of many places I would love to visit.

  4. Hi Anna! Those Photos are so perfect! You’re an excellent photographer! It’s a beautiful place. It looks so quiet…Anna, I’ve got an invitation to you… Do you know Argentina?. If you don’t … I think you may like it. We have national parks with a lot of kind of plants and flowers an animals. maybe you are interested… It’s a nice country.. I don’t know… Maybe in some of your holidays you would like to come and meet it. It would be nice some day to see in your blog photos of my country. Thanks for your time, Byeeeee

  5. This is so cool! Haha fishies!

  6. Ana Sarmiento on said:

    Que hermosos lugares Anna,no cabe la menor duda de que los mejores recuerdos que podemos tener son los de nuestro viajes.Asi que … a disfrutar!!!

  7. Beautifully there is *. * ! The parrot had to be funny ^ ^ C:.

  8. evooba on said:

    Wow, awesome photos! The underwater ones are amazing! Seems like a really cool place…hopefully the work on your book didn’t take much time from your vacation! Thanks for sharing the pics with us! 🙂

  9. tensh_iie on said:

    Oh, I love those pictures. They remind me of all the beautiful places an earth. I think the “White Haven beach” one is my favorite – so calm and peaceful. Thank you for sharing them with us, and I hope the inspirations of such a great place added/made your work on “Learning not to drown” a little easier 😉

  10. YoMarquesLP on said:

    These are some amazing photos, Anna! Thanks for sharing them with us. Hope you had a lovely time there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

