Anna Shinoda

Next Book Club Selection: Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

I’ve been enjoying letting you all vote for the book club selection.  It’s given us a good variety of selections, diverse feelings of loved it or hated it, and a lot of interesting conversations – all good things that make a nicely rounded book club.

I recently read a book that I thought would be a great book for discussion.  So this month I’m choosing our next Book Club selection (it’s good to be the queen): Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

WTCB hc

I’m going to be honest with you all.  It took me about 50 pages to really get into it.  But once I was in, I was IN.  And the pay off of the surprising but inevitable way that both the story lines come together is worth the early set up.  So if you’re bored with the first 50 pages, I encourage you to read on and give the rest of the book a chance.   Let’s meet up in my Ustream chat room Tuesday, November 12th at 1:00pm PST.

I recently saw John Corey Whaley speak at a conference and picked up his book there, partly because I liked his session, partly because the book has awards, and partly because it’s published by my publisher.  I’m constantly impressed with the books I’ve read published by Atheneum – it makes me super proud to be part of the family over there.  Kind of can’t believe that next year not only will I be a published author, but that Learning Not to Drown gets to be on the Atheneum list with so many incredible books.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Next Book Club Selection: Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

  1. I try read this book (even if I must read on english not in my language) and join to Ustream chat :):)

    Like

  2. I don’t know why but i remembered about a book “to kill a mockingbird”. I have a feeling they have to have something in common..
    and of course my congratulations! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

